My year in review page isn’t out yet, I think, so I’ll leave that kind of year review stuff until then. Right now I got more pressing matters.

New year’s resolutions.

Last year, I reviewed my progress on the previous year’s (read: 2015) resolutions. Except there wasn’t any, so I retroactively made some. And in that process I actually didn’t make any resolutions for the 2016 year, so there’s that. No review of progress.

But that’s great because I didn’t want to spend a single second on that.

Lets get right into things.

Or not.

In typical fashion, we’re going on a little detour before the actual purpose of this blog.

I’ve actually always liked the concept of having New Years resolutions. Things you promise to yourself that you want to improve on this year. It can be very practical, and definitely is a proactive way to positively affect your future year. I’ve always ragged on it for being just lofty wishes that are given up on part way through the year (read: January 2nd), but that’s more a personal problem, then a problem with the resolutions itself. I’ve also ragged on resolutions for being just things people wish that would happen but don’t actively work towards. But that is also a personal problem. One that I am very familiar with. In that lens, all my problems about resolutions were actually just problems with me. And while I am still me, and thus I still have all the problems that being me entails, I’m going to list out some resolutions, because it’s damn time I get my life shaped up the way I want it to be.

Weight loss

E A S Y C H O I C E. I’ve been thinking about it, hinting it, and probably talking about it for a while now.

Now, I’m not as dumb as to believe that I’ll just magically turn a new lead and start up the world’s most health exercise routine and food plan, but a blob’s gotta start somewhere, and with no path in mind, I’ll figure out more of it as time goes on. That’s not to say I’m going to just “go with the flow” and do whatever I want. I just don’t know the way I want to go with it. I tried a bit of keto, but that’s definitely too hard on the family relationship to really go through. I’m thinking a more general “cut-back” diet paired with 2-3 exercise times a week will be a good start. The exercises are probably going to be a bit loose for now, and if I really do keep at it, I’ll move towards more “focused” exercise routines, with a separate of gym work (muscle building), cardio (running/biking/swimming!), and sports.

I’m also not dedicated enough to just go off a loose goal of “lets lose some weight!” I am going to need a physical number to aim for, so progress can be tracked, seen, and predicted (oh boy). A simple BMI calculator says I’ll need to be about 190lb~ to be considered ‘healthy’. But I know that is not a realistic number for me right now, so I’m going to say 210lb as a weight goal for 2017. If I hit it before the end of the year, I guess we’ll go to 190. If I don’t hit it this year, I’ll have a years worth of data to try something else the next year. I mean, what’s 1 extra year to the 21 I’ve already lived and done nothing with? Sounds fine to me.

Resolution #1: Be at least 210 lb by the end of the year 2017 through a combination of dieting, health eating, and exercise.

Get a Job!

This one is less a resolution and more of a fact that needs to be drilled into my head or else I won’t make it happen.

Summer’s an important deadline here, since CPA recruit is pretty much the most important thing for me to get a articling position with a firm. That would make the following 3-4 years of my life much easier, and definitely get my mom off my back for a while.

Now for concrete plans… not much. I’m still under informed about Recruit events, so one of the parts will to be to ask for information. There’s plenty of sources there, from friends to school faculty.

Then plans to get that job. I’ve already planned to leave my summer rather empty to accommodate any CPA Recruit needs. I’m going to be attending info sessions, attending networking/social events, and then researching & e-mailing contacts to meet for coffee to chat and ask questions. I know right away my weak point is going to be the whole ‘chatting’ part and being ‘social’ and ‘likeable’. A more concrete plan for that can be worked on at a later time.

I’m also going to have to do some massive revisions on my cover letter writing skills. I think my resume is generally fine/acceptable, but my cover letters and interview skills are piss poor in comparison. I’ll be needing to ask to read other people’s cover letters, ask for some advice, and obviously start to look at attending the school’s provided resume/interview workshops.

Resolution #2: Get a CPA articling position through first acquiring information about the upcoming events, attending them, following up on them, and improving my conversational and interview skills.

Being more social

Alright, I’ve gotta come clean and confess that I’ve not made any improvement in this category since the start of 2016. In fact, I had some great chances to do so with the communications class I took in the first term of 2016, that I didn’t build any momentum off of. I guess that is what happens when you fuck up the ending of the class. I really should have ditched that last 30 minute review session of 298 and just hung out with Samantha, who I actually wish to see sometime in 2017 (that is, if she hasn’t graduated already).

So, what am I going to do to improve here?

Well, I’ve thought about it a lot (as seemingly half of my blogs are about not being outspoken enough), and have come to the small, temporary conclusion that the best way to start a conversation, a friendship, a relationship, is to just put yourself out there. I’ll have to be the me I am when hanging out with friends, except with people I don’t know. If they don’t respond well to it, it doesn’t matter, I have to keep that up. It’s much easier to open up to someone who is already opened up to you, than two closed off people both trying to see where each other stands.

AKA: I’ve gotta make the first move myself. Say hi. Ask someone about their day. Compliment their shirt, and ask where they got it. Get the conversation going, then transition into the standard questions of “Whats your name” “What do you study” “What year are you” “What did you do over the break” “You got any plans for the weekend” and then just go from there. Going from there involves asking whatever the hell pops into my mind at that random moment. Like “Why don’t more laptop keyboards have a numpad on them” and “did the prof really use that slide picture, it looks silly!”, and maybe even the random snarky comment. I make those comments all the time when with close friends, so if I want some more close friends, I got to treat them like that right?

Resolution #3: Be a more socialable human being by actively engaging conversations by expressing my own thoughts and feelings without expecting the same from them. Eventually there will be people who reciprocate that openness, and some friends will be made.

$100 on a Journal

I’m going to keep a journal.

Like, a physical, written in journal. Not a livescribe journal or another blog (or even this one!).

But whats the $100 there for?

Budgeting.

I’ve been looking around for what kind of journal I’m going to use. I love the ring-bound memo-pads by Midori, but they’re still a memo pad, not a journal. I’ve looked at just regular Rhodia notebook, but that doesn’t give the umph that will keep me continuing to open the damn thing up and writing something in it. I have settled on either the Midori Traveller’s Notebook (size not sure, maybe passport?), and the Hobonichi Techo. The Midori is customizable as hell, and I can get it to be mix and matched to fit what I will use it for (which I’ll get to in a bit). The Hobonichi is a finely detailed and well thought out planner that will focus on a day-to-day aspect of the journal. Both of these are appealing ideas, so I can’t decide as of now. I really need to sit back and clearly define what I’m going to be doing with the journal, and find out what kinds of things I’ll need to be focused on, and what things I won’t need.

So what will I be doing with it?

Happy thoughts collection. Blog idea collection. Random thoughts collection. Planning and design space for all sorts of projects. Lists of things I need to do and buy (writing it makes it more permanent for me, rather than using Google Keep [which is amazing]). Small reminders for assignments. Using a planner and having fixed deadlines make it easier for me to organize and go through with the other resolutions.

All of course, with a fountain pen.

That I’ve yet to decide which one (the one that I like using the most but am not too afraid of it being damaged or lost/stolen. which describes none of the pens I own).

The Midori will make the planning and project design, lists, and small reminders and notes for things easier. The Hobonichi makes the happy thoughts collection, idea/thought collection, deadline planning and organizing easier (because it’s a planner). I think the Hobonichi fits what I want better, but because it’s a planner, I’ll really only be able to use it effectively for the year. While that might be the perfect thing for me to do to stick with these new, year-long goals, it doesn’t feel very economically well planned when I can use the Midori (it can get a planner added in, nowhere as good though) for the rest of it’s usable life, since paper refills for that are common.

I guess I’ll decide when I’m back home and able to order them. Both are about the same price, so no matter which one I get, I should be satisfied.

Resolution #4: Decide between the Midori and Hobonichi, and then keep a carry-on journal that will contain a happy thoughts collection, idea/thoughts, project planning, lists & reminds, and organizing and scheduling the needed events for the previous three resolutions.

Really, the journal will be the thing that keeps the rest of the resolutions together.

So to recap…

  1. Be at least 210 lb by the end of the year 2017 through a combination of dieting, health eating, and exercise.
  2. Get a CPA articling position through first acquiring information about the upcoming events, attending them, following up on them, and improving my conversational and interview skills.
  3. Be a more socialable human being by actively engaging conversations by expressing my own thoughts and feelings without expecting the same from them. Eventually there will be people who reciprocate that openness, and some friends will be made.
  4. Decide between the Midori and Hobonichi, and then keep a carry-on journal that will contain a happy thoughts collection, idea/thoughts, project planning, lists & reminds, and organizing and scheduling the needed events for the previous three resolutions.

Looks like a plan.

Here’s to a good 2017.

