Well, the first week of school is over.

I’ve got more school troubles than I have courses now.

Great.

First off, I apparently can’t read 2’s and 3’s apart from each other, and have dropped 290. Still hoping for 390, but that’s unlikely.

Then apparently SFU 360 counts for 202 here, so I wouldn’t have to take it, but I can’t confirm because I can’t get SFU to send in my summer transcript as the TSSU (the body that deals with the marks) aren’t sending in any. Good stuff.

To further piss me off co-op requires a shit ton of stuff to apply, and one of those is a document detailing all previous courses taken at UBC and other institutions, as well as the marks for it. I can’t even fill that since I still don’t even have marks for the rest of my summer courses!

Gosh, here I am trying to do some transferring, but the world just has it out for me.

Somehow amidst all that transferring junk, I came back to the thought of life being a game. Childhood would be the tutorial, as it’s a safe place for you to try out the things you can and can’t do. Then somewhere the tutorial ends and it becomes the beginning stages, the easiest part of life – school. Where there are NPCs around to guide you, provide suggestions, and essentially get you through those levels. Throughout these beginning areas, you begin to get a little sense for aspects your like, and it becomes something you try to specialize in. Much like choosing a specific class or skill-set, one doesn’t have the time to master everything, so they pick and choose how much time to want to put towards improving each skill. Each person/player has the option to build their character the same way another person does, but it rarely happens. Occasionally there will be people writing guides to help players with less direction/expertise choose the skills they want to improve.

At the end of school, you get throw into the real world – the actual game. You start off with not much, only the knowledge and experience from the tutorial and beginning stages. Soon you find the world is a much different adventure, and will need to adapt by improving and learning different skills than before. Somewhere in this mid-game area, you begin to really specialize in one certain skill set. It becomes the thing that others come to you for. You expand your social network and learn about new things from others. Some players you might never see again, for a variety of reasons, and some you’ll spend constant time with. You might even find someone who you will spend a long time working together as your progress through the game.

And then at some point, you’ve completed most of the game’s content. While it’s not a 100% clear file, you’ve done the main storyline, and can’t progress much more. Eventually you quit the game due to being bored, tired, or to find another thing to do. You can pass out your accumulated knowledge to others, distribute the things you have, and then leave forever.

I’m not sure why this was related, but thinking that this is just a small problem in the pathway of this game helped me to calm down a bit.

But now I’m super duper sick, after noting two weeks ago how I haven’t been actually sick for a long time. Irony.

Well, back in reality, it is still super frustrating that there are so many issues with just transferring. I’m not even talking about actual course work, relearning the school layout, bus timings and schedules, and making friends in my classes.

It’s only been one week in and I feel like I need to take a break before I do something dumb about my transfer schedule.

It’s probably this cold making me feel much worse than I need to.

I’d like to just go to some park/hill/tree and just stay underneath it for a while, but right now I’m just going to get even more sick.

At least Thursday was enjoyable – until the latter part where I was starting to realize that I was sick. Bummer.

I did some more thinking about my whole blog problem thingy, and I’ll probably start implementing my decision on it sometime soon.

‘Soon’.

