Today was the first Monday schedule for the new term.

My Monday’s are 207 (business version of Econ 201 that I took last term) and BUS 303, morals and ethics in business.

Hold it, I know what you’re thinking:

[Trying to hold back laughter] Ethics? In business? Don’t you guys do whatever it takes for the ca$h dollar?

Yes, yes, yes. General opinion of business faculty is that it is all about that bass $$$. Yes, it kind of is, and yes, a lot of professors don’t help that image with what they say (seriously, 50% of the time the professor will say something like “the goal is to become filthy rich” as an introduction. No, it’s not amusing), but no, it is not all about money. I mean if it was all about money, that 7/11 down the road from you might as well just hire some thugs to ruin the family-run convenience store a block down. Yes, a lot of huge companies do some illegal stuff like Enron and Toyota’s faulty brakes, but that’s exactly what they’re trying to prevent with things like this.

And while I’m at it, the generalization of Arts students becoming homeless, Math students making no money, Psychology students asking you therapist questions and Economics students (technically arts students) being business dropouts, are not all true. Of course there is some degree of truth to it, like many Art students not doing what they graduated with in their future, and Math students not creating applications for their findings, but it does not mean every of them become that way! Also, when someone tells you they’re an Arts student, the first sentence that comes out from your mouth should not be ‘so you want to be homeless’? Goes for all the other disciplines too.

So back to 303, ethics.

Honestly it just felt like a TOK class again.

Right vs Right.

Values. Ranking them. Identifying where you used them.

Us vs Me.

That kind of stuff.

Without the terminology.

Something I really noticed though was how much business likes to do ‘reflections’.

Reflection – a statement that requires you to step back from your perspective and recognize how it exhibits a pattern in your behavior. Then making sense of it and learning from your thoughts and experiences.

Basically they’re telling me to write blogs for marks.

Again.

We had an activity where we had to write down 10 values we hold on a piece of paper. The thing is, there was a PowerPoint with many different values listed in the front. We were to notice when we had to look up to complete our list of values.

It was easy. I mean when I spend good parts of my days thinking about possible ideas to write with and the values they demonstrate all so that I can expand it on a post here, I don’t need help trying to list 10. Heck, I listed like 13, then removed some. But this was really hard for most people. A lot of them had to look up right away, or after a few ideas. While my class is small, it should be a decent sample size to get relatively decent information. Slightly surprising that it was so hard for a lot of people. I guess not many of them spend their time thinking about these things, as they aren’t directly and instantly relevant in life. No wonder I don’t do well in school, I’m wasting all my time on other things! I wish.

Then we had to list them.

I had trouble choosing my top 3. Honesty? Accountability? Loyalty? Fairness? Adaptability? It was hard. All of them are important values, and I can’t really say which are harder to rank than others. Other people found it easy to have their top few, then the remaining list was hard to do. That’s different. They had their top value already in their head. Is it because they’re not thinking about the importance of the others? Am I over thinking their usage? Have they already gone through this phase of determining which value they value the most? I can’t tell.

It’s hard to make judgements based off this kind of data, since not everyone is sharing their stories. Maybe my situation is actually really common, and they are the uncommon, you can’t tell. Maybe there are additional results that I have missed. Also, people might just not be willing to share everything they have on their mind. They could be like me, thinking about it, then leaving class to try and decipher it.

Anyways.

It’s 2:07pm right now, and I have 207 in about 23 minutes. Coincidence? Probably. I still have that to go through today. I don’t think it will be anything to write about.

Instead lets go to this.

Because I know not many people will read the article, here’s the gist of it.

Some years ago this guy named Arthur Aron got 2 strangers to fall in love by having them ask each other increasingly personal questions. The idea is that by revealing more personal details, you are making yourself more vulnerable which facilitates closeness. Blahblah I’m not being scientifically accurate or precise, I don’t care! If you want to know more read it yourself, geez. And yes, other people did more studies on this too.

36 questions that will let you fall in love with someone.

I find it amusing that all it takes is 40 minutes, some looking into each others eyes, and some personal details.

Love, in this way, is shown to be about personal connection, or understanding. Maybe it’s even just the action of sharing very private uncommon things to creates this illusion of closeness (though at the same time it’s not an illusion because you actually did share it). Beyond making people fall in love, the experiment, when used as an exercise/game, could be a method to deepen friendships. Maybe you remove some of the questions from the list to have the intended effect, but it could work. Could also be speed-bonding (like speed dating, without getting to the dating part!) for teams, icebreakers and such.

Maybe could have even done it in 202.

Maybe I’ll send an e-mail about it.

But first, I want to try this myself.

No. Not fall in love, I’m not interested in that right now. But just deepening friendship. Trading personal ‘secrets’ (not really a secret if you reveal it near the end), ideas, and thoughts. Would be interesting.

Though I would wonder if both genders would work.

Would it be more effective for females talking to females than males talking to males? Or do mixed pairs perform better than uniform pairs. Would be interesting.

Though I’m certain some experimenter has already tried it out, I’m way too lazy to find/read/research any of it. First hand would be easier!

Anyone want to volunteer?

