So today (or actually a week ago, but I only bothered to look at my school email today) my university sent me a request to help take part of the ‘Canadian University Survey Consortium (CUSC) 2014 Survey of First Years Students‘. I wasn’t interested until it said that

By completing the questionnaire, you will automatically be entered into a draw to win one grand prize of a $500 Best Buy gift card or one of three $250 Best Buy gift cards.’

I’m so shallow.

So I am filling out this darned thing, and then it asks for my ethnicity.

f7e9ba1c12c3263080d985d885a2f4d7Really?

‘Black’ and ‘White’ are not ethnicities, thank you very much.

Even African, or hell, African-American (god forbid) is better than ‘Black’.

And this is the first time I’ve seen ‘White’ instead of Caucasian or something related to Europe (sorry my geography is too poor to try to explain).

Is this really an important survey?

There wasn’t even a complaints box where I could send them this link.

I would much rather fill in the ‘SFU Commute’ survey.

At least that actually matters to me.

