In some post too far from this one to recall, I have mentioned that my cousin has started her occupation as an international student in Langara some time ago.

She passed her first course and will be registering for the second level.

Just to give a perspective. Level 2 is maybe around grade 8-ish~ grammar, don’t hold me to it though, my memory is foggy.

As any sane person would be, she was happy that she had passed.

So happy that she decided to spend a good 1100$ CAN to fly back to Beijing for the winter break.

To me, this seemed a tad bit over the top.

Passing is nice and all, but should be normal. To go from the bare bottom to the first step should be a normal improvement. Not one deserving of a $1100 ticket. Especially since her mother is funding all of this. With each Canadian dollar being six times it’s value in yuan and Langara’s course fees being some multiple past 4 times it’s normal price.

It just feels wasteful.

Ungrateful even.

While your parents are at home tirelessly working to allow you to stay here, you take some of that 10 grand she gave you to return home after 4-5 months. Are you really that homesick? You did go on a 4 month trip/class to Canada a few years ago without any problems.

Although it’s hard to, I can tolerate that. However, I find it much more difficult to accept your asking of your mother for a present.

For doing the normal thing and continuing.

You ask for an Louis Vuitton wallet.

Their website are giving me figures that scare me. $300-$900 USD? That’s more than a camera costs. Which is much more practical than a leather wallet.

But wait, this is China we have to talk about.

Real LV wallets are about 6000 yuan (about $1000 CAN), for a small, cheaper one.

My aunt wasn’t ready to shell out such an amount for a small piece of leather. So on her business trip, she picked up a fake LV wallet for one tenth of the original’s price – 600 yuan. That’s still quite expensive for a (possibly) fake leather wallet bearing a fake brand. But on her way back, she had visualized the moment she gave it to my cousin.

“Mom, is it real?”

That question hurt her. She couldn’t bring herself to give my cousin a fake, so she went out and bought the real deal.

I… don’t blame my cousin. She came to Canada (a goal since her trip some years ago), is learning English, and is improving. She succeeded and wants a reward for her effort. But… the idea seems so foreign to me. I don’t ask my parents for rewards when I do well in something. Heck, I usually don’t even tell them. I don’t ask for prizes, for rewards, gifts.

She’s my cousin. Closely related too.

And I don’t understand her.

Being an ocean apart from your relatives and family creates a rift.

I hate that rift.

