Who cares if you disagree? You are not me, who made you kind of anything. So, you dare tell me who to be, who died and made you king of anything.

Sara Bareilles. It’s been a long time since I’ve listened to anything from her since Little Voice was released.
So apparently she has another album, called Kaleidoscope Heart, with King of Anything as the lead single.

I’m thankful of whoever introduced me to Sam Tsui (forgets) because while rummaging through some of his covers, I came across Sara again.

Sara has some really… creative, innovative or original songs. Like Love Song, is not some cliche’d romantic song, about love or what not, but about the process of writing one. Though beyond the face-value of the lyrics, one can infer there is a ‘love song’ imbedded within the song. But King of Anything is really… unique. It’s an upbeat and positive song, while at the same time slandering the subject of the song. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen/heard a song like this, save Long Song. I don’t have any words to describe the feeling of ingenuity when I listen to her songs (maybe I should go learn some SAT vocab for this, haha). It is just extremely easy to relate to. Sure, I might not have be asked to write a love song or anything, but the feeling of being told to do something, is something I get quite often.

Even her music videos are quite… metaphorical. I don’t know if she’s the one who thinks of such ideas (probably not, you get signed to major labels for a reason ya’know), but Love Song was quite interesting to interpret (totally wasted my civics time. ; A ;).

ENOUGH ABOUT MUSIC. NEED TO DO CIVICS.

^Deep down I’m not actually at the “HOLYSHITIT’SDUEWTF?” stage of urgency… only the “oh, it’s due soon.”

