Today. June 13, 2011. At precisely 4:00PM, in PST time at Sir Winston Churchill in Vancouver, British Columbia, was the IB Orientation.

Though it was not started at precisely 4pm, it still started around that time.

But I have one thing to say.

It was very, very ‘unorganized’.

Though the feeling of this disorganization most likely comes from the fact that this IB class was incredible loud, the overall impression I had was: unorganized.

Started out with me spotting Andy on the 15 south, and had a chat with him while walking to class.
I have to say, what gave me the biggest positive impression today was not the IB Orientation, but Andy. I actually had the time to finally step back, and analysis/observe. Yes, this may sound extraordinarily stalker like, but I do this on a regular basis with people I am not familiar with.

I finally realized.

He’s amazing.

Gosh, I started to feel a little awkward walking beside someone whose vibe just shouted ‘sensible’, ‘sophisticated’ and ‘natural’.
Felt weirder to be listening to dreamy trance music while listening to him sing (it’s actually not that bad) sonatas and/or operas. I have no real recollection of what he said it was. My music was too loud.

Anyways. On to the main course (nom).

Walk in at around 3:15, and a whole bunch of us are at the cafeteria just chillin’. We are soon told to move to room 301 to collect our books, this is at about 3:33 -ish so yeah.

There, the line up to get into the class is just horrendous.

It’s not even single file. Hell, it’s not even 2 by 2s.

It’s group by group. Not even funny how loud, obnoxious and just overall disruptive we were. Though there were no classes in session to disrupt. At least the IB teachers planned for that.

Off the bat Brandon starts a chat with a new girl. The only thing I actually really noticed about her was that:

1. She’s white (+1 non-asian population)
2. She seems really, really familiar. So familiar that it was almost normal to ask ‘Hey, I haven’t seen you in a long time!’ (Scary feeling, I know.)

Once I saw that pile of 9 books, the first thing that came to my mind was, “Can my bag fit all this?!
I came here preparing to carry home two books: The Merchant of Venice and Crime and Punishment.

I was further surprised when 3 of the books were not stories, fiction or not, but guides.
Then I took a look at the side to the book ‘A Canadian Writer’s Reference’ and promptly saw the following phrase,

“Hacker             A Canadian Writer’s Reference          Fourth Edition”
Recalling how Yuchen was talking about there being more and more hackers in IB as the years progress, this book suddenly became scary.

Then it was into the auditorium for a chaotic ‘scavenger hunt’ which is basically filling your sheet by finding people who complete the criteria listed at each point.
Hectic — the only word in my arsenal to describe it.

Lets move on.

Back to the cafeteria. Some basic introduction game where one chats with the person next to them about a given topic for a minute. Sadly I didn’t do any of those. I barely gave my opinions, and mostly killed time by finding things to ask them.
I find I like learning about others, and not sharing my experiences with others, it just feels better to listen than to speak.

Then came the most horribly prepared game ever.

‘Build whatever the hell you like that you can BS it representing IB’.

Jesus Christ. That was the most horribly (yes, I realized I use horrible/horrid quite a lot) prepared game in that orientation, EVER.
When you give a group of chatty, young IB-ers a bag of marshmallows and toothpicks, and you allow them the freedom to build whatever they so choose, you are in for a big, big mess.

Our group was okay, decently coordinated, and somewhat focused. Finished it later, as opposed to sooner.
But the most unorganized part of this was the description of our creation. We literally had no ideas, and it was just Angela (Queen of perfect BS that makes logical sense!) spouting whatever came to mind, and we built upon that. Quite literally. She even found a way to describe the incomplete part (yes, it was incomplete) in a way that even Mr. Gabbot approved. It’s probably Angela’s ‘explanation’ as to why our group was first.

Oh and the prize was receiving timbits about 2 minutes before everyone else did. Great motivator.

Anyways, the orientation ended there, and we all went on our separate journeys to arrive back home.

Well, I said ‘our separate journeys’ I mean separate journeys, not alone, but as a group.

Then I proceeded to throw the disk around with Sean, The Vegetarian (who has yet to refute my reply), Jack, Nolan and Monsieur Du.
And learned how to properly throw a forehand, suddenly my throws are amazing. I just need to aim.

Oh by the way guys, Zebra’s V-301 (their relatively cheap fountain pen) is horrible. It doesn’t write. As in the ink doesn’t flow through the tip. My first fountain pen, and I’m already discouraged from buying the Pilot Varasity (disposable) and the Parker Vectory (looks absolutely gorgeous).

Side note, this is the only Zebra product that I’ve ever used that has failed to justify it’s purpose. The F-701 that I bought today (I held back from buying it on Saturday because my parents were there. Didn’t need to teach them I was an impulse buyer of shiny, pretty, objects. Just can’t deny the magpie instinct to hoard and amass shiny objects of [semi]value) works beautifully. I’ve never owned a pen whose ink flows out so easily, and makes one dream that one can be a future Calligraphist. Oh I wish.

That’s another thing to add to my growing list of ‘Things I Need To Learn’.

Placed 361st on that list, just behind 342: Photography, 357: Driving, and 360: Resisting temptations to purchase shiny objects of (semi)value.

Good night.

